REVIEW: CLASS MOM BY LAURIE GELMAN

33898874

 

Class Mom

Laurie Gelman

CLASS MOM is going to have you giggling out loud and if you are like me, you will be snorting quite a few times as well. School politics was not this funny to me while I was dealing with it, but CLASS MOM really put a hysterical spin on how crazy some parents are and how much of a problem they can be when class mothers need them to volunteer.

Jen Dixon has two college aged daughters and now a kindergartener named Max. Jen is asked by her friend to be the class mother for Max’s class and she reluctantly says yes. Some parents have a hard time with her jokes, which really makes her snarky sense of humor all that more funny. Jen is an older mom compared to the others and I could totally relate to that. I get so sick of telling people that my eleven year old is my daughter not my granddaughter! Anyway, Jen tries her hardest to win over the younger moms when all I really wanted to do was smack some of them.

If you are looking for a fun read then you have to pick up CLASS MOM by Laurie Gelman. The things that some parents say will have you snickering through out the book. I still can’t believe this is a debut novel. It is really well written and you instantly become involved in all of the characters lives. I love when that happens. Jen being the older mom, thinks she knows exactly how the younger moms are going to react to her emails and most of the times she is spot on. She actually tries to encourage the parents to respond to her emails right away by offering them rewards and I couldn’t help but cringe while laughing, reading them. The mom who always responds first is funny too but all she ever says is that she is out of the office. Every single time! I hope Laurie Gelman continues to write and keeps me laughing just like she did with CLASS MOM.

 

Untitled

REVIEW: LIFE SWAP BY CAROL WYER

cover83091-medium

 

Life Swap

Carol Wyer

Received from Netgalley

They always say the grass is greener on the other side, but is it really? LIFE SWAP gives two people the chance to exchange their lives for something totally different than what they are living at the moment. Polly and Simon are both having problems in their relationships, jobs, and life in general so when the opportunity comes up to swap their lives, neither one of them can say no. There is a lot of background covered in the beginning of the book and the life swaps don’t happen until the middle of the book, so be prepared for that. Once the swaps happen, the story moves very quickly and before I knew it, I was finished and loved it.

Polly owns her own business and is about to lose it. Simon will be turning fifty soon and feels under appreciated at work and by his family. Both of them have been dreaming of swapping lives with someone who has more money and less problems and a seemingly happy life. But once they get over the shock of actually being able to changes lives with someone, they realize that not everyone is exactly as they think they are just by what they see on the surface. Everyone has secrets and problems that you don’t always see.

There are so many twists and turns in LIFE SWAP that I was on the edge of my seat at times once the life swap happened. The story is also very funny and you won’t be able to stop yourself from laughing out loud. I can’t believe that I have never heard of or read Carol Wyer before. I love the way she writes and the way she puts you right in the story, sitting next to the characters and feeling as if you are a part of the story. I love the way that Carol Wyer shows you how even though you think your life stinks, once it is gone, you might actually miss it. One of the main things that kept running through my mind while reading was be careful what you wish for. That’s all I’m going to say so I don’t ruin it for anyone. I can’t wait to read more by Carol Wyer.

 

Thanks for reading and have a great day!!

 

susanpfBTCgp51915-vi

GOODREADS MONDAY

goodreads-monday

 

Goodreads Monday is a weekly meme hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners . To participate, you simply choose a random book from your TBR and show it off. Don’t forget to check out her blog and link back to Lauren’s Page Turners and add your own links!

Today I’m going to showcase a book that I’ve been wanting to read for many years. I’m going to finally read it this week.  I’ve decided that once I showcase a book here on my blog, I HAVE to read it! Lol what do you think? Can I do it?

Okay here we go…………

199531

 

FROM GOODREADS:

 

In Fannie Flagg’s high-spirited first novel, we meet Daisy Fay Harper in the spring of 1952, where she’s “not doing much except sitting around waiting for the sixth grade.” When she leaves Shell Beach, Mississippi, in September 1959, she is packed up and ready for the Miss America Pageant, vowing “I won’t come back until I’m somebody.” But in our hearts she already is.


Sassy and irreverent from the get-go, Daisy Fay takes us on a rollicking journey through her formative years on the Gulf Coast of Mississippi. There, at The End of the Road of the South, the family malt shop freezer holds unspeakable things, society maven Mrs. Dot hosts Junior Debutante meetings and shares inspired thoughts for the week (such as “sincerity is as valuable as radium”), and Daisy Fay’s Daddy hatches a quick-cash scheme that involves resurrecting his daughter from the dead in a carefully orchestrated miracle. Along the way, Daisy Fay does a lot of growing up, emerging as one of the most hilarious, appealing, and prized characters in modern fiction.

 

KK~oreos~_Susan

STANDALONE SUNDAY

standalone-1

 

Standalone Sunday is a fun feature created by Megan at Bookslayerreads where each Sunday you feature a standalone book (not part of a series) that you loved or would recommend. There’s so much focus on books that are part of a series… she thought it’d be nice to focus on some standalone novels, too!

Feel free to join in on this weekly feature by creating your own Standalone Sunday post! And be sure to check out Megan’s very creative blog and leave a link in her Standalone Sunday comments section so she can add your blog to the list

My Standalone Pick this week is:

cover83091-medium

 

Take a chance on a new life and maybe you’ll find your happy ever after. Because true love is always worth the risk…

Handsome prince, beautiful house, fabulous job? Polly has none of these. All she has to her name is a string of failed relationships and she’s up to her ears in debt. She sees herself as a hopeless case and would do anything to change her luck.

Simon is approaching the big 50. He’s off his game at work, his kids don’t seem to notice he exists and his wife seems to think he’s made of money. As for sex …what’s that?

So when the opportunity comes for both of them to swap their lives for a life of luxury, they jump at the chance. For Simon a life of helicopters, fast cars and hot babes beckons. For Polly, it’s all diamonds, spa days and celebrity parties. What more could they want?

Trouble is, the grass isn’t always greener on the other side. Is life in the fast lane more than either of them can cope with?

A witty, heart warming read, perfect for fans of Fiona Gibson and Carole Matthews.

Praise for Carol Wyer:
‘A wonderful writer of light hearted, funny, witty and entertaining novels. Her books are like pick me ups!’ Cath ‘n’Kindle Book Reviews

‘This book is so worth gushing about – I adored it. Carol Wyer sure knows how to make people laugh.Chicklit Pad

Carol Wyer has written the best kind of book …a joy to read …fun, humourous and full of life…a super inspirational story and one everybody should read.’ Reviewed the Book

‘I really loved this book … a really fun read’ Simple Wyrdings

‘I’d recommend this to both men and women of all ages – it will give you a good belly laughThe Daily Opinion

‘Delightful!’ Yours Magazine

Untitled

REVIEW: THE CHOCOLATE TOUCH BY MELISSA MCCLONE

34821403

 

The Chocolate Touch

Melissa McClone

Received from Netgalley

THE CHOCOLATE TOUCH is the eighth book in the Love At the Chocolate Shop series.

Former Air Force captain York Parker has one month to spend in Marietta Montana before embarking upon a consulting career. He never expected to be selling chocolates, but he’s happy to help his sister and her boss. He also likes spending time with sassy, pretty Chantelle. His new co-worker may have the chocolate touch, but he’d rather taste her decadent kisses… That is, until he learns the real reason she’s in town.

Chantelle Cummings is a blogger, author, and all around chocolate expert. She is also trying to prove herself to her mother’s family, hoping to take her place in the family business, Delacroix Chocolates. In Marietta to promote her book, it is the perfect excuse to scope out the chocolate shop, looking for recipes and opportunities. When Chantelle also ends up filling in at the Chocolate shop, she and York are thrown together more and more, and the instant interest of their first meeting continues to grow. Unfortunately, both these two are waiting for the next stage of their lives and have big plans that don’t include romance. Can they get past their expectations and Chantelle’s secrets to find their happily ever after?

THE CHOCOLATE SHOP is funny, hopeful, sweet, and clean. It is also a good example of what families should be. Clean contemporary romance with a few twists. I really enjoyed reading this book and had trouble putting this book down. I often get drawn into the books written by Ms. McClone as she is a wonderful story teller. I highly recommend this book to other readers and I can’t wait to read the next book in this series. I wasn’t ready for THE CHOCOLATE TOUCH to come to an end. I would have loved a longer story with these two characters. They had great chemistry together and the story kept me interested the entire time. Hopefully they will be revisited in a future book.

ec

THROWBACK THURSDAY

throwbackthursday

 

Throwback Thursday meme is hosted by Renee@It’s Book Talk and is a way to share some of your old favourites as well as sharing books that you’re FINALLY getting around to reading that were published over a year ago. You know, the ones waiting patiently on your TBR list while you continue to pile more titles on top of them 🙂! These older books are usually much easier than new releases to get a hold of at libraries and elsewhere. If you have your own Throwback Thursdayrecommendation feel free to jump on board, you’re welcome to use Renee’s pic as well. If you’d just link back to her @ It’s Book Talk she’d so appreciate it.

 

Okay, here we go………

23018249

 

FROM GOODREADS:

 

When Olivia’s mother was killed, everyone suspected her father of murder. But his whereabouts remained a mystery. Fast forward fourteen years. New evidence now proves Olivia’s father was actually murdered on the same fateful day her mother died. That means there’s a killer still at large. It’s up to Olivia to uncover who that may be. But can she do that before the killer tracks her down first?

 

b6514b48953cc39459f11ddb79293889

Still in Hotter Than You Know Where……Arizona

Still in Arizona……Brian got a call from his cardiologist yesterday and they told him not to leave.  Last week he passed out with chest pain in the bathroom and I had to call 911.  They diagnosed him with angina and put him on Plavix.  He came home the next day.

 

He went in for his appt. today and he has to have an angioplasty done next Tuesday. They suspect blockage in the carotid artery where it meets the heart. The new job is concerned and told him not to worry about his job.  He is still employed by them and He was put on the payroll as of yesterday and will use whatever time he needs from his three week vacation that they gave him up front. So here we sit……..when I know more details I will come back with an update .  I feel like I’m living that stupid movie Groundhog Day………

 

It never ends………