SIXTEEN YEARS AGO……..

I was 15 miles away in New Jersey, walking in to work, four months pregnant with my oldest daughter……..they sent us home after a little while and I remember sitting on my couch crying the whole day.  The next day I was driving to work and had to pull over, crying my eyes out. Heading toward New York City, on the other side of the highway I was on, were hundreds and hundreds of fire trucks, EMTS, police cars, ambulances, and other rescue vehicles…..all heading to Ground Zero……if feels like it just happened yesterday and not 16 years ago……….

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “SIXTEEN YEARS AGO……..

  1. I remember I was sitting in my boring marketing class and air raid sirens went off all over campus. (Ontario, Canada) It was terrifying! Nobody new what was going on so they were evacuating all universities thinking our schools and other important institutions were possible targets. While driving home with classmates, we listened to the whole thing on the radio, hearing the second plane crash. Totally stupified with tears streaming down our faces. It was also the day I got my first tattoo (coincidence) bit now it’s a permanent reminder of that horrific day. I can’t even imagine being in New York at the time 😔

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Susan, I was pregnant as well with my eldest daughter!! I was working in Frankfurt that day at a big exhibition hall where all of a sudden the whole buzzing, noisy, chatty place went completely silent – all eyes were peeled on the many TV screens displayed at the fair. Needless to say it was a shock for everyone. I’ve never in my life seen so many people shake their heads in disbelief, tears in their eyes … awful!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was at a dog shelter in southern England. I heard a ripple of murmuring voices. When I went into the office it was crowded with people silently looking up at the television screen. No one made a sound. We just stared, too stunned to believe it could be happening.

    In the days and weeks that followed I was impressed by the bravery of the Americans and their refusal to be cowed by one of the worst atrocities to mankind.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on Reads & Reels and commented:
    Where were you when the towers went down? Remembering 9/11

    I was sitting in my boring marketing class and air raid sirens went off all over campus. (Ontario, Canada) It was terrifying! Nobody knew what was going on so they were evacuating all universities thinking our schools and other important institutions were possible targets. While driving home with classmates, we listened to the whole thing on the radio, hearing the second plane crash. Totally stupified, with tears streaming down our faces. It was also the day I got my first tattoo (coincidence) but now it’s a permanent reminder of that horrific day. I can’t even imagine being in New York at the time 😔

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I was working in a substance abuse clinic as the administrative assistant. We happened to all be in a seminar about HIV/AIDS. My boss’s mother paged her and told her what happened. When she came back and told me, it totally felt unreal. After the seminar ended, we turned on the tv in the conference room, just in time to see building #1 fall. We continued to have sessions that days since our clients were addicts and we were trying to keep them from relapsing over it, but I cried most of the day. It really does feel like it was just yesterday. Not 16 years ago. My little cousin was born prematurely on this day 4 years ago (she’s mostly okay now, just a little small for her age and has asthma) so that has lent a bittersweet happiness to the day. I’m so thankful she survived and is mostly okay now, but it’s still such a sad day otherwise.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for sharing this Susan. I was 18 in 2001 and getting ready to go to my part time job in a local newsagents. My boyfriend at the time had turned up to give me a lift, we had a fight about nothing, he drove off. It’s only because of that fight that I turned on the tv while I was waiting for him to calm down. Every single channel was playing the footage of the first plane hitting Tower One. I watched live as the second plane hit the other tower – I literally couldn’t believe what was happening. I remember my boyfriend then driving up and saying to him “you’d better come in, I think World War Three has just started”. When I went to work, everyone was talking about how awful it was, people were scared something would happen here (UK) too. I also remember some people were driving round, beeping their car horns and cheering the attackers on, shouting Jihad! out of car windows…I was terrified. It was a completely surreal day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

