REVIEW: PLEASE IGNORE VERA DIETZ BY A.S. KING

6665671

 

Please Ignore Vera Deitz

A.S. King

PLEASE IGNORE VERA DEITZ is filled with sadness, heartbreak, and mystery, which is exactly why I enjoyed it so much. I’d been wanting to read it since it came out in 2010. So when it was referred to me by my friend Samantha, I was thrilled. When Vera loses her best friend, Charlie, she has a hard time accepting the reality of it. Supposedly it was suicide, but was it really? After he dies, he bugs her and begs her to clear his name. She sees Charlie’s everywhere, in every shape and form. At one point, she thinks the pickles on her burger are Charlie. But when he died, Vera was mad at him and hated who he had become. He hurt her badly and now she has to figure out how to let go of that hurt so she can clear his name.

MY heart broke for Charlie. He was so lost and had no idea how to get back to the Charlie he used to be. He and Vera were best friends and along the way he lost her as well. Vera tries to remain under the radar while in school and Charlie’s new friends make that almost impossible. They pick on her, spread lies about her, and get Charlie to believe them. PLEASE IGNORE VERA DIETZ is my first time reading A.S. King and to say I was on an emotional roller coaster, is such a sad under statement. I felt all the things that Vera felt while reading her story and at times I could see that she was going down the wrong path and I just wanted to reach in and shake her. Then with the next page, I just wanted to give her a hug.

PLEASE IGNORE VERA DIETZ held me captive until the very last page. Once I started reading, I couldn’t put it down. I just had to know if Vera was going to see past the hurt and grief to tell the truth. I will be thinking about Vera’s story for days to come and wonder how I would have handled her situation. My heart hurt by the end of the story but I also had a smile on my face. Don’t you love when an author can do that to you? The sad part about this tale is that it happens every day in any town in the country and people are afraid to say something. That is the real tragedy of this story. So thank you A.S. King for breaking my heart. I loved every minute of it.

KK~impatient~_Susan
4 thoughts on “REVIEW: PLEASE IGNORE VERA DIETZ BY A.S. KING

Leave a Reply

