REVIEW: THE SUMMER THAT MADE US BY ROBYN CARR

34051969

 

The Summer That Made Us

Robyn Carr

Received from Netgalley

Wow, what an emotional rollercoaster THE SUMMER THAT MADE US had me on. Megan has one crazy family and wants them all to get together one more summer at their lake house. Megan has cancer and she wants to try to get the family back as a whole like the good old days. It’s been almost thirty years and Megan feels like it’s time to let go of the past and be a family again. When I tell you this family is blistered, fractured, and blown to pieces, you will have to take my word for it. As you read THE SUMMER THAT MADE US you will begin to feel the same way.

For the Hempstead family, two sisters marry two brothers. Each family has three girls and they have them in six years. They go to the lake house every summer the day after school gets out and stay there until Labor Day. Life is good, they are all happy until the one summer when tragedy strikes. A young girl drowns and their lives will never be the same. The lake house is boarded up never to be used again. One by me, each of the daughters is broken. The sisters, Louise, and Jo don’t talk anymore and they were best of friends. Once I started reading THE SUMMER THAT MADE US I was instantly hooked. I felt as if I were right there with all of these women, stressing everything they were going through.

The twists and turns in THE SUMMER THAT MADE US will have you staying up late just to read one more page. Before you know it, you have read three more chapters. Don’t you love when an author has that kind of power over you? I sure do and that why I always run to Robyn Carr’s books. She never fails to pull on my heart strings and never disappoints. By the time I finished, I had a huge lump in my throat, tears streaming down, and a stupid smile on my face. THE SUMMER THAT MADE US is filled with family, forgiveness, love, grief, and letting go of the past.
One by one, the women return to their summer cottage and stories are shared, events and good times remembered, and slowly they become a family again. Who could ask for anything more?

 

b6514b48953cc39459f11ddb79293889

11 thoughts on “REVIEW: THE SUMMER THAT MADE US BY ROBYN CARR

  1. Yes I love when an author has that kind of power. I love being drowned in emotions when reading swept off my feet by the story. Wonderful review Susan.😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

