FIRST LINES FRIDAY-COLLEEN HOOVER

1473285988962

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words.

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!

without-merit-9781501170621_hr

 

Today, my First Line Friday comes from a new book from the ever so lovely, Colleen Hoover.   WITHOUT MERIT is Colleen’s new book that will be released on October 3, 2017so you all get a sneak peak before it’s published.

 

FIRST LINES:

 

I have an impressive collection of trophies that I did not win. Most of them I purchased from thrift stores or garage sales. Two of them I got from my father for my seventeenth birthday. Only one of them I stole. My stolen trophy is probably my least favorite one. I took it from Drew Waldrup’s bedroom right after he broke up with me. We had been dating two months and it was the first time I allowed him to put his hand all the way up my shirt. I was thinking about how nice it felt, when he looked down at me and said, “I don’t think I want to date you anymore, Merit.” There I was, enjoying his hand on my boob, and all the while he was thinking of how he never wanted his hand on my boob again. I stoically slid out from under him and stood up. After straightening out my shirt, I walked over to his bookshelf and snatched the biggest trophy he had. He never said a word. I figured if he dumped me with his hand up my shirt, I should at least get a trophy for it.

 

FROM GOODREADS:

In Colleen Hoover’s gripping novel, reminiscent of the bestselling works of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes, a young woman decides to reveal the dark secrets of her seemingly-happy family before she leaves them behind, but when her escape plan fails, she must deal with the staggering consequences of telling the truth.

 

THANKS FOR READING AND HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND!!

 

ec

6 thoughts on “FIRST LINES FRIDAY-COLLEEN HOOVER

Leave a Reply

