REVIEW: THE HOPE CHEST BY VIOLA SHIPMAN

29939133

The Hope Chest

Viola Shipman

Received from Netgalley

I have never read anything before by Viola Shipman but she broke my heart over and over again and she owes me a box of tissues. THE HOPE CHEST had me tearing up and trying to breathe past the huge lump in my throat over and over again. Learning about Mattie and Don’s lives is so moving and will make you fall in love with both of them as you are reading. They are getting ready to celebrate their fifty year wedding anniversary but at the same time Mattie is in the final stages of ALS. Rose is hired as Mattie’s caretaker and quickly becomes more of a family member and friend.

As Mattie feels the end getting closer and closer she shares her stories with Rose and her young daughter, Jeri. THE HOPE CHEST brings the four of them closer and each one realizes they now have the family they were looking for. Mattie and Don never had children and Rose and Jeri have no family, since Rose’s parents passed away. Their relationship grows stronger and stronger each day, even though they were breaking my heart the whole time while I was reading. I really loved learning about Mattie and Don from their stories, but I felt heartache like I never have before.

THE HOPE CHEST is a beautiful but heartbreaking story. I became so emotionally invested in all of the characters and felt like they were lifelong friends. When they were sad, I felt sad. When they were happy I found myself smiling. I love when an author can do that to me and Viola Shipman did it perfectly. THE HOPE CHEST is filled with love, life, hope, sadness, happiness, and learning to carry on when our loved ones pass on. Be prepared not to do anything else until you finish reading this beautiful story. Once I started I had a hard time putting it down, especially when Viola began to introduce all of the treasures inside of Mattie’s neglected hope chest.

 

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: THE HOPE CHEST BY VIOLA SHIPMAN

Leave a Reply

